Events

A growing community

<< Feb 2019 >>
MTWTFSS
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 1 2 3

We organise a multitude of community events and workshops throughout the year. Workshops are a place for our network to share knowledge and experience on online/blended learning within and outside the community. Topics range from augmented and virtual reality to presentations skills and online textbooks. Each year, we have two main events together with the other strategic initiatives in the field of education at Aalto University. In May, we innovate new ideas at the Learning@Aalto Challenge and in December we celebrate our achievements at the Learning@Aalto Gala.

Join an event or workshop and get to know the Aalto Online Learning community!


upcoming events


past events

Thursday 21 Feb Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
Visual Clinic
Wednesday 20 Feb Europe/Helsinki 12:00 - 14:00
VR & 360 Clinic
Thursday 14 Feb Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
Visual Clinic
Thursday 07 Feb Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
Visual Clinic
Wednesday 19 Dec Europe/Helsinki 09:00 - 16:00
Learning@Aalto Gala 2018
Wednesday 12 Dec Europe/Helsinki 15:00 - 16:00
VR Hub: The Future of XR
Tuesday 11 Dec Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Wednesday 05 Dec Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Wednesday 28 Nov Europe/Helsinki 15:00 - 16:00
VR Hub: Embodied Interface
Tuesday 27 Nov Europe/Helsinki 17:45 - 20:00
Nordic Rebels Season 2 World Premiere
Tuesday 27 Nov Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Friday 23 Nov Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Blended Mentoring in Bachelor's Thesis Research
Wednesday 21 Nov Europe/Helsinki 14:00 - 16:00
Experiences with online exams for C programming course
Tuesday 20 Nov Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Wednesday 14 Nov Europe/Helsinki 15:00 - 16:00
VR Hub: Co-working in the Metaverse
Tuesday 13 Nov Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Tuesday 06 Nov Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:30
Let’s talk Podcasting
Tuesday 06 Nov Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Wednesday 31 Oct Europe/Helsinki 15:00 - 16:00
VR Hub: Creating Sounds
Tuesday 30 Oct Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Friday 26 Oct Europe/Helsinki 09:00 - 16:00
Games and Gamification 2018
Tuesday 16 Oct Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Tuesday 09 Oct Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Tuesday 02 Oct Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Wednesday 26 Sep Europe/Helsinki 14:00 - 16:00
Workshop on Call for Idea Proposals
Tuesday 25 Sep Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Tuesday 18 Sep Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Thursday 13 Sep Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Learning@Aalto Workshop on Slides Design
Tuesday 11 Sep Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Tuesday 04 Sep Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
A!OLE Visual Clinic
Tuesday 21 Aug Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 16:00
Video Making Slots at Kallio Stage
Friday 17 Aug Europe/Helsinki 13:00 - 16:00
Enhance your course with an Augmented Reality game
Thursday 31 May Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Virtual meetings in teaching - a participatory workshop
Wednesday 23 May Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 16:00
Learning@Aalto Challenge
Wednesday 23 May Europe/Helsinki 09:00 - 11:00
CICERO Learning@Aalto
Friday 18 May Europe/Helsinki 14:00 - 16:00
Multi-Camera Studios Grand Opening!
Monday 14 May Europe/Helsinki 13:00 - 16:00
Värkkäämällä maailma haltuun - iloa ja innovointia oppimiseen -hanke
Thursday 03 May Europe/Helsinki 14:00 - 16:00
Automatic and Continuous Assessment Workshop
Thursday 19 Apr Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 12:00
A!OLE Forum with Baba Lybeck on presentation skills on April 19th
Wednesday 18 Apr Europe/Helsinki 14:00 - 15:00
Visual Resources Workshop
Thursday 12 Apr Europe/Helsinki 09:00 - 12:00
Learning@Aalto workshop on Scriptwriting: a Great Video Starts with a Great Script
Monday 09 Apr Europe/Helsinki 13:00 - 14:30
Lightboard Demo
Tuesday 03 Apr Europe/Helsinki 17:00 - 18:00
VR Hub Clinic
Thursday 15 Mar Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 12:00
Digital Learning Technology and Learning Analytics - from some general views to our current research
Tuesday 13 Mar Europe/Helsinki 17:00 - 18:00
VR Hub Clinic
Thursday 08 Mar Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Get inspired with Virtual Reality for Education!
Tuesday 06 Mar Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Walk-in Info Session: JSI Pilot Funding
Monday 05 Mar Europe/Helsinki 09:30 - 11:30
Teacher's Coffee: A+ workshop for interactive online course material and smart content development
Wednesday 28 Feb Europe/Helsinki 13:00 - 15:00
Movie afternoon
Thursday 15 Feb Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 12:00
A!OLE Video Production Process
Thursday 01 Feb Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Web-based learning together with eight students from the course Kuvataiteen verkko-opetuksen työpaja
Thursday 25 Jan Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Learning@Aalto workshop on Using TIM for online course materials and assignments
Thursday 18 Jan Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 12:00
Learning analytics in game-based learning
Wednesday 20 Dec Europe/Helsinki 08:15 - 16:00
Learning@Aalto Gala 2017
Friday 08 Dec Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 12:00
From citizen science to digital learning
Thursday 07 Dec Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 11:30
Workshop on Open science practices and visual media
Thursday 09 Nov Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 12:00
Pedagogical scripting in CSCL
Tuesday 07 Nov Europe/Helsinki 09:00 - 14:00
Aalto Video Maker’s Day Powered by Panopto
Thursday 02 Nov Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Scriptwriting Workshop: a Great Video Starts with a Great Script
Tuesday 31 Oct Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Learning@Aalto workshop on Teacher as a Game Designer
Thursday 26 Oct Europe/Helsinki 14:00 - 17:00
VR Hub Session: VR for Molecules and Materials
Tuesday 17 Oct Europe/Helsinki 13:00 - 15:00
Video Studio Usage Guidance Day
Thursday 12 Oct Europe/Helsinki 13:00 - 15:00
The Future of Blended Learning in the Bachelor’s Program in International Business at the Mikkeli Campus
Thursday 12 Oct Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
ARIS Otaniemi Campus Tour game  
Wednesday 11 Oct Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 14:00
VR Hub Session: The Dreamlands of Virtuality
Tuesday 10 Oct Europe/Helsinki 13:00 - 15:00
Video Studio Usage Guidance Day
Wednesday 04 Oct Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 15:00
Learning@Aalto workshop on video presentation skills at the Kallio stage
Tuesday 03 Oct Europe/Helsinki 13:00 - 15:00
Studio usage guidance day
Friday 29 Sep Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 12:00
A!OLE Forum: Learning by Watching Other People Play Games
Thursday 21 Sep Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Introduction to Learning Centre Video Recording Facilities
Thursday 14 Sep Europe/Helsinki 13:30 - 16:30
Reimagining video conferencing - a design workshop with MIT MediaLab and Aalto MediaLab
Thursday 14 Sep Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
How to be yourself and communicate clearly on screen (and classroom)
Thursday 07 Sep Europe/Helsinki 11:00 - 12:00
A!OLE Forum: Future visions of educational technology and online learning
Tuesday 29 Aug Europe/Helsinki 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop on Learning Analytics and Big Data
Wednesday 28 Jun Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Improve your public speaking skills using VR
Thursday 01 Jun Europe/Helsinki 09:00 - 16:00
ARIS (Augmented Reality for Interactive Storytelling) Hands-on Workshop
Tuesday 30 May Europe/Helsinki 09:00 - 17:30
Education@Aalto 2017
Wednesday 24 May Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Improve student interaction and feedback with Qoala.io
Thursday 20 Apr Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Visual Resources
Thursday 06 Apr Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
How to use a tablet as a whiteboard
Monday 27 Mar Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 11:30
Using a professional teleprompter
Thursday 09 Mar Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Copyrights and online education
Thursday 16 Feb Europe/Helsinki 10:00 - 12:00
Web-based learning together with fine arts students